Ivor Novello Awards 2014: Who’s been nominated?

Laura Mvula, London Grammar, Olly Murs and Arctic Monkeys among the list of nominees for prestigious songwriting awards

Read more on London Grammar Listen to London Grammar on Spotify
Posted 24th April 2014 in News, London Grammar | By Clickmusic News Desk
London Grammar

The Ivor Novello nominations have been announced with Arctic Monkeys, London Grammar, Laura Mvula and John Newman among those up for the prestigious songwriting awards.

London Grammar have been nominated for the Best Song Musically and Lyrically award for their top 20 hit single, 'Strong,' which finds itself up against John Newman's 'Love Me Again' and Palma Violets' 'Best of Friends'.

"It is lovely as the Ivor Novellos are so prestigious," Hannah Reid told The Guardian.

"This has all come really quickly, it's been a bit crazy."

James Blake has been nominated for Best Contemporary Song alongside Everything Everything and Disclosure. The Best Album award, meanwhile, will see Arctic Monkeys' compete against Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds' and Laura Mvula.

Check out the full list of nominations below:

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Palma Violets: 'Best of Friends'
Written by Will Doyle, Sam Fryer, Chilli Jesson and Pete Mayhew

John Newman: 'Love Me Again'
Written by Steve Booker and John Newman

London Grammar: 'Strong'
Written by Dominic Major, Hannah Reid and Daniel Rothman

Best Contemporary Song

Everything Everything: 'Kemosabe'
Written by Jonathan Higgs, Jeremy Pritchard, Alexander Robertshaw and Michael Spearman

Disclosure featuring Sam Smith: 'Latch'
Written by Guy Lawrence, Howard Lawrence, James Napier and Sam Smith

James Blake: 'Retrograde'
Written and Performed by James Blake

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Emeli Sandé: 'Clown'
Written by Shahid "Naughty Boy" Khan, Grant Mitchell and Emeli Sandé

Passenger: 'Let Her Go'
Written by Mike Rosenberg

Olly Murs: 'Troublemaker'
Written by Claude Kelly, Oliver Murs and Steve Robson

Album Award

Arctic Monkeys: AM
Written by Alex Turner

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds: Push the Sky Away
Written by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

Laura Mvula: Sing to the Moon
Written and Performed by Laura Mvula

Best Original Film Score

Captain Phillips
Composed by Henry Jackman

Composed by Steven Price

The Epic of Everest
Composed by Simon Fisher Turner

Best Television Soundtrack

Mr Selfridge
Composed by Charlie Mole

Ripper Street
Composed by Dominik Scherrer

The Thirteenth Tale
Composed by Benjamin Wallfisch